State Castle and Palace Jindřichův Hradec
The palace in Jindřichův Hradec is one of the most well-known and largest complexes of buildings. It has undergone complicated constructional development. The original name of today’s Jindřichův Hradec, “Nova domus” in Latin and “Neuhaus” in German, suggests that the castle had a predecessor. Systematic archaeological research enabled the beginning of the local settlement to be explained. Its results led to the conclusion that a fortified Slavic settlement existed here already in the 10th century, which undoubtedly played its role in the Přemyslovec dynasty’s castle administration. Remains of a bulwark were found in front of the court facade of Adam II’s palace. Until the discovery of these facts, the date of the settlement’s establishment had been determined as the end of the 12th century. Further evidence proving the antiquity of this settlement are the findings in the Church of St. John the Baptist, where a large Romanesque church used to stand at the end of the 12th century. This moved the foundation of the oldest stone buildings in Jindřichův Hradec back to the time before the arrival of the Vítkovec family. Another fact testifying to the royal ownership of the castle is that king Přemysl Otakar II took the castle as a former royal manor from Oldřich I for a short time in 1277. A year later, Oldřich returned to Hradec. We can presume that the stone castle, which is one of the oldest royal castles with encircling buildings, was established by the king and taken over in the middle of its construction and finished by the Vítkovec family. The name of the first local Vítkovec, Jindřich, was later used to name the castle and the town.
Route A: Adam’s Building
Classical palace exhibition with rooms in the Renaissance, Baroque, Rococo, Empire and Classicist styles. Numerous pieces of furniture are complemented by many paintings and porcelain. The original Renaissance “Green Rooms” are considered to be unique, as is the masterpiece by the Czech high-Baroque painter, Petr Brandl, “Joseph of Egypt Lets His Brothers Recognise Him”.
Route open April – October (daily except monday)
Route B: Gothic Castle
Medieval castle with original interiors, Royal Hall with a mini-gallery of Czech mythical and actual rulers, castle Chapel of the Holy Spirit, the Scullery and a unique European painting – the Legend of St. George (wall painting from 1338). You can also see the so-called Madonna of Jindřichův Hradec (late-Gothic panel painting from 1460) here.
Route open May – September (May, September: weekends only; June, July and August: daily except monday)
Route C: Walk through the Centuries
Tour of Classicist rooms with furniture from the Černín hunting palace Jemčina, including a picture gallery of the Černín dog pack. Moreover, tour of original interiors from the 19th century, the Černín portrait gallery (last owners of the palace) and finally, a pearl of European Mannerism, the garden rondelle.
Route open July – August (daily except monday)
Black Tower – Dungeon:
Tour of the tower, dungeon and remains of the oldest castle kitchen.
Route for individual viewing.
Black Tower open May – September (May, September: weekends only; June, July and August: daily)
Admission: CZK 20.00 adults, CZK 10.00 children, students, seniors
November - March: groups upon reservation only
April, October: daily except for Mondays 10:00 a.m. – 3:15 p.m.
May, September: daily except for Mondays 10:00 a.m. – 4:15 p.m.
June – August: daily except for Mondays 9:00 a.m. – 4:15 p.m.
Admission: 1 route 3 routes
Tour in Czech CZK 70.00 CZK 170.00
children, students, seniors CZK 35.00 CZK 80.00
Tour in a foreign language – a combination of all 3 routes is offered
Adults CZK 140.00
We charge a 10% fee on top of the admission price for reservation of the tour.
We charge a 100% fee on top of the admission price for tours outside opening hours.
Rooms for Rent
Chapel of the Holy Spirit
The castle chapel is used in co-operation with the Jindřichův Hradec provost office for church weddings (space for around 50 people). The monument administration permits photographs to be taken in the palace garden during the wedding ceremony and possibly also in some of the castle’s and palace’s interiors. Wedding flower decorations of the chapel may be arranged upon order.
Knight’s Hall in the Spanish Wing
The Spanish wing has served for representative purposes since the time it was built in the 16th century. The interior contains very precious stone components on Renaissance fireplaces and also newly restored historic tapestry. The hall may be modified for concerts (around 230 seats).
Cultural and social events may be held in the Knight’s Hall, including catering services. The capacity of the hall for social events is between 120 – 150 people.
The Knight’s Hall is connected to the Small Theatre in the Spanish wing by a staircase. The best acoustic hall in town is used for small-scale events and concerts. The interior contains wall paintings from the 16th century, historic portraits of European rulers and furniture. One hundred chairs can be placed in the room for theatre setting, the interior may be also arranged into banquet setting. The room’s furnishings include a grand piano.
The Spanish wing is fitted with above-standard sanitary facilities. The cloakroom may be modified according to the client’s requirements. It is understandable that smoking is not allowed in the Knight’s Hall or the Small Theatre.